transfer attributes from instanced geo?

Ask questions about how to do XY using MOPs
Post Reply
danielsweeney
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 3:19 pm

transfer attributes from instanced geo?

Post by danielsweeney » Thu May 09, 2019 3:25 pm

Hi Everyone.

Wondering if anyone can shed some light on this.

Is there anyway to transfer attribute from the instance geo?

I can get data from the points its instancing on too. But lets say I have specific attributes I want from the geo im instancing.

say box one has @test = 1;
box2 has @test = 0.5;

how would I get this data to transfer to the correct instance points?

Cheers for your time. and I hope it makes sense.

Daniel

User avatar
toadstorm
Site Admin
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: transfer attributes from instanced geo?

Post by toadstorm » Thu May 09, 2019 4:27 pm

I just pushed a new Experimental release that will allow you to do this easily. There's a new "Transfer Attributes" parameter on the MOPs Instancer in v0.1.46e that will allow you to transfer any listed attributes from the source geometry to the packed primitives. Give that a shot and let me know if it works for you!

danielsweeney
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 3:19 pm

Re: transfer attributes from instanced geo?

Post by danielsweeney » Thu May 09, 2019 4:48 pm

Hi Toadstorm

Thanks for the heads up on this. Sounds great and I will give it a shot.

Another question if you don't mind as you are a bit of a master.

would there be anyway to get the bounding box max of each instance and offset the transform so they sit on the floor, Kinda like -$CEY but for each instance. I basically am trying to create rolling objects but need them to offset by there bounding volume.

or is it because they are packed prims they dont have bounding volumes per point??

cheers

danielsweeney
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 3:19 pm

Re: transfer attributes from instanced geo?

Post by danielsweeney » Thu May 09, 2019 5:01 pm

Hi Toadstorm,

So I just downloaded the experimental build.

There is the same option I had in the latest stable build "Attributes to copy" But it only lets me copy attributes from the points I am instancing too.

Excuse my ignorance and utter noob like status (been using houdini around 10 months) but how would I transfer some attributes from the instance geo?

it does not pick up attributes set on the Geometry I am instancing?

Thanks for your help and the great work on MOPs.

Cheers

User avatar
toadstorm
Site Admin
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: transfer attributes from instanced geo?

Post by toadstorm » Thu May 09, 2019 5:18 pm

It's a different parameter entirely called "Transfer Attributes" that you should be looking for. The "Copy Attributes" parameter works in the opposite direction; it copies attributes from the template points onto the packed geometry.

Regarding the bounding box question, I've already written a node for that! Check out MOPs Align.

danielsweeney
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 3:19 pm

Re: transfer attributes from instanced geo?

Post by danielsweeney » Fri May 10, 2019 8:58 am

Thanks again for all your help Toadstorm.

Seems to work with transferring attributes from the instanced Geo.

The MOPs align tool didn't work the way I anticipated, but I figured out a way using an unpack.

cheers

User avatar
toadstorm
Site Admin
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: transfer attributes from instanced geo?

Post by toadstorm » Thu May 23, 2019 1:50 am

Unfortunately I'm going to have to remove this "Transfer Attributes" parameter for the time being... it had the really nasty side effect of causing the Instancer to evaluate about 10-20 times slower than it used to, even for just a handful of assets. If I can figure out a way to make this process fast again, I'll re-add this option, but for now the performance penalty is so bad that I can't justify including it in the next Stable release.

Post Reply